I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Lee Chang Dong at LACMA January 4, 2008

Filed under: movies & film — Raven @ 5:32 pm
Tags: , ,

Wow, I really suck at letting people know about Korean-related events in advance. At least this notification is slightly in advance. The films of Lee Chang Dong are currently showing at LACMA. For details go here. There was one film last night, one tonight, and two tomorrow, so there’s still time! I’ll be at the second film tomorrow, the Secret Sunshine screening hosted by Quentin Tarantino and followed by a Q&A with Lee Chang Dong himself. At least, I’ll be there if my ticket has come in the mail by then (it’s not here yet).

Please note the film at 5pm tomorrow, Green Fish, is Lee’s debut film and admission is free (those two things are really unrelated).

P.S. The DARI Awards post is still upcoming, I promise.

 

4 Responses to “Lee Chang Dong at LACMA”

  1. JT Says:

    Wow, why is Quentin hosting? What’s the relationship between him and Lee? Take some pics and post please!!

  2. Raven Says:

    Tarantino wasn’t there. I think he may have been at the reception beforehand, but I wasn’t invited to that, so I couldn’t say for sure.

    I have no idea what the relationship is. I was trying to figure that out myself. I guess it’s destined to remain a mystery.

  3. youngkim Says:

    I liked Peppermint Candy. I heard good things about Oasis.

    As far as Secret Sunshine, all I heard is good things about the Cannes-winning actress but not anything about the movie.

  4. Raven Says:

    I don’t know much about his other films. This one is mostly about the actress’ performance, since the main theme is grief and how she responds to it. So pretty much the whole movie is riding on her shoulders.


Comments are closed.