I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

The Korea of Old December 5, 2007

Filed under: kdramas — Raven @ 4:46 pm
Tags:

Historicals seem to be my thing lately, at least where kdramas are concerned. Wait, let me clarify. I haven’t had a whole lot of time recently, so I’m only averaging about one new drama per month. And since my most recent new drama was the wildly popular Dae Jang Geum, which comes in three volumes, I feel as if I’ve been watching historicals for a long time, but it’s all the same drama.

Dae Jang Geum is so popular that apparently there’s a theme park dedicated to it in Korea. There you can tour some of the set and try on some of the costumes. If you ever wanted to look like a Korean palace kitchen lady, here’s your chance! In all seriousness, the sets and costumes in Dae Jang Geum are awesome. But even more interesting is the glimpse into the palace kitchens. An acquaintance pointed out that this portrayal may not be the way the kitchens actually were at all, but I’m choosing to believe it is. It’s partly the kitchen setting that makes this drama fascinating for me. The story is okay, but a bit slow and episodic, and if this were set in modern-day Korea I might sometimes be yelling at the screen in frustration. But in the historical setting it works.

I love the dynamics of the kitchen ladies and the royals. I love watching the food prep, and I’m just waiting for Jang Geum to get in major trouble for getting friendly with one of the royal guards. How dare she? All palace ladies must preserve themselves for the king, although in fact most of them don’t end up as his concubines.

I’m not even halfway through the three volumes, so I’m sure I’ll be blogging about Dae Jang Geum again.

 

9 Responses to “The Korea of Old”

  1. Bon Vivant Says:

    I think that a K Drama about a kitchen works for me (though, and I’ve said this a million times, I can’t get started until my day job includes staying at home during the day!)

  2. Raven Says:

    Believe it or not, I have less time to watch these now than I did when I had a day job!

    I am so behind on blog posts. I have at least four that need to go up.

  3. Bon Vivant Says:

    I’m getting an iPod after the holidays so maybe I can start watching K dramas at work. Oh, come to think of it, my work is a K drama!

    Actually, if you are interested in developing a K Drama, for the modern age, have I got a story for you!

  4. Raven Says:

    Once I have enough ins in the Korean entertainment industry I may want to develop a kdrama. But that time is far in the future, possibly so far that I’ll never actually get there.

  5. JT Says:

    This was the best K-drama ever! Love, intrigue, good and evil, beautiful women, cute guys, food, food, food! Watching DJG always made me hungry, but of course, everything languishing in my fridge looked positively insipid when compared to the succulence of what appeared on the show. Most K-dramas require you to suspend a lot of belief. Not this one. DJG will force you into submission and leave you crying for more at the end.

  6. Raven Says:

    Oh yes, I totally wanted to try ALL the food they prepared, and the food I actually had available didn’t come anywhere close to what I was seeing on the screen. Plus the shots of the turtle soup ingredients, including the live turtle, cracked me up. I wrote about it on my other blog: http://ravesblog.wordpress.com/2007/12/05/turtles-and-inspiration/

    I just got the third volume today, so I’ll be watching more eps tonight.

  7. JT Says:

    Rave,

    You seem like a totally cool grrrrl… I wouldn’t be surprised if K-guys were lining up outside your door to take you to a restaurant that served these sample royal menus. Next time I am in LA…

  8. JT Says:

    Please check your turtle blog for my suggestions… 🙂

  9. Raven Says:

    When they start lining up, I’m in! I wonder if there actually are any restaurants that serve these royal menus.

    Next time you’re in LA we definitely should check out a restaurant or two.


Comments are closed.