I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Korean Film Festival coming up! November 2, 2007

I’m so tempted to just post the press release. But then everybody would know I managed to get my hands on it… Oh wait, I just gave that away. Oh well.

Anyway, the first annual Korean Film Festival in LA (first, that is, according to the release, although I’m positive I heard about one a couple years back) will be taking place November 15-17 at the Fairfax 3 Theaters and will include more than 15 films. I don’t know if there are going to be any panels or Q&A sessions or anything, although I’m hoping so. The opening film will be Driving With My Wife’s Lover (the title alone makes me want to see it), in which a guy finds out his wife is having an affair with a taxi driver, so he seeks out the guy and hires him for a long-distance taxi ride. What he’s hoping to accomplish I don’t know; I guess I have to see it to find out.

The closing film will be a gangster flick called A Show Must Go On and starring Song Kang Ho, although it sounds like it’s less gangster flick and more work/family comedy in a gangster setting. That could be interesting. The festival is sponsored by KOFIC USA (the Korean Film Council, see link to the right), which says this about itself: “KOFIC’s objective has been to increase the awareness and appreciation of Korean films by promoting the development of both Korean and Korean American films.” Hey, I wonder if they’ll give me money to make my Korean-lead movie. But maybe before asking them I should do something like, you know, write the script…

Anyway, this festival is also sponsored by the Korean Cinematheque, the Korea Times, and the Hollywood Reporter, and its theme is: “It’s Alive: Korean Film Genre Hybrids and Hollywood Remakes.” I’ll be there in a professional capacity, as press, but the blog will benefit as well. πŸ™‚

 

12 Responses to “Korean Film Festival coming up!”

  1. youngkim Says:

    I am probably going to watch a few of those movies myself. I’m going to watch A Bittersweet Life and To Catch A Virgin Ghost for sure.

  2. Raven Says:

    Cool. πŸ™‚

    I don’t know everything that’s playing yet, although I’m now officially in possession of a press release since my press creds came through. But that doesn’t mean I read the whole thing.

    They *are* having at least one panel. It will be on opening day. And there’s a website, but it didn’t work when I tried to go there.

  3. youngkim Says:

    I’m going to be driving one of the panelists to the panel. So I’ll be there.

  4. Raven Says:

    LOL, I guess you won’t have a choice! Fairfax 3 is the theaters at Beverly & Fairfax, right? I can’t think of anywhere decent to park around there.

  5. Edward Says:

    I’d love to go. Raven, any listing and/or schedule of when the movies will be played?

  6. Raven Says:

    No schedule yet. All I know is the first panel is at 4pm on 11/15. When I pick up my press pass this Wednesday I’ll see if I can get a schedule.

    Here’s an article from the Korea Times that says the festival lasts until 11/18 (not 11/17 – but they probably got the dates wrong). It also gives the address for the theater.

    http://www.koreatimes.com/article/articleview.asp?id=412718

    Before anyone faints with surprise at my sudden awesome Korean language ability, I didn’t understand most of the article, although I did read all of it. πŸ™‚

  7. youngkim Says:

    http://www.koffla.com/screening.html

    That’s the schedule. The publicity on this has been very minimal. I hope many people show up.

  8. Raven Says:

    Awesome, thanks! Failan I can skip, already seen it, but finally I’ll get a chance to see My Wife Is a Gangster! My guess is I’ll be disappointed, since I usually am when I see a movie I’ve been dying to see.

    In addition to being minimal, the publicity has been wrong. The English-language stuff said the festival ended on 11/17 and gave a non-functional URL. Those of us who get there will be doing it despite their best efforts to keep us away!

  9. Edward Says:

    Although I haven’t seen it, I’d recommend “Barking Dogs Never Bite” because it was directed by the same guy who directed The Host and Memories of Murder.

  10. Edward Says:

    I’d also recommend Save the Green Planet as it’s kind of crazy and off the wall. It’s not like anything most people stateside have seen before.

  11. raine Says:

    aww that’s a horrible theater! it smells bad AND the parking sucks. oh well xD

    thanks for this! i might have missed it if it wasn’t for you. i was wondering if they were gonna have one again this year, i have the program from last year when it was at the end of september. this is indeed the 4th one haha xD but i guess they changed it up a bit and made it the first again.

    from what i remember i liked my wife is a gangster…
    thanks for the reccommendations edward! anyone have any more?

  12. Raven Says:

    Raine, I’m glad I put up the notice then, so you won’t miss it! But yeah, it’s not the best theater in the world.


Comments are closed.