I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Tongue in Jeep October 29, 2007

Filed under: restaurants — Raven @ 6:33 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

So I broke down and went to the KBBQ for non-K people, Soot Bull Jeep. It was only to try the tongue, I swear! In most respects I think Park’s beats Soot Bull Jeep (although some readers may not agree with me): better service, awesome panchan, cleaner, prices about comparable or maybe a little less. Plus Soot Bull Jeep charges extra for their panchan! Can you imagine?

But let’s move on to the things Soot Bull Jeep does right. They have a parking lot, and it’s free and non-valet, two things I like. No, the list doesn’t end there. Their tongue is better than Park’s. The reason is it’s cut thicker. If you cut it too thin, it just won’t be tasty, as I remarked when I blogged about Park’s. Here’s the tongue before:

p1010290.jpg

And here’s the after photo:

p1010293.jpg

The tongue is good with Soot Bull Jeep’s green onion salad, which rocks. I tried the tongue with the lettuce wraps, but the lettuce tended to overwhelm it. I mean, even thick tongue still isn’t thick enough to compete with all that lettuce. The lettuce is better with the kalbi, which we also ordered. The panchan (which we paid extra for!!!) were only so-so. I think they were left over from yesterday or something.

Soot Bull Jeep
3136 W 8th St
(just west of Catalina)
Los Angeles, CA 90005

 

2 Responses to “Tongue in Jeep”

  1. youngkim Says:

    Did you factor in the dry cleaning bill in the cost?

  2. Raven Says:

    LOL, no, but I should’ve! The after-smell (is that a word?) on my clothes seemed stronger than usual.


Comments are closed.