I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

The Horror of Cinderella October 18, 2007

Filed under: movies & film — Raven @ 8:32 pm
Tags: ,

Call me old-fashioned, but I like my movies coherent. This preference does not seem to be shared by the makers of horror movie Cinderella (신데렐라), which I saw tonight at KCC. I mean, is it too much to ask to be able to figure out why these horrible things are happening to these folks? If Evil Sister is somehow haunting/murdering a bunch of Good Sister’s friends, it would be nice to know how she’s doing it. It would also be nice to know whether Evil Sister is actually dead or not and which daughter she really is.

But clearly these things are not for us to know. This movie was my first real taste of Asian horror (the American remake of The Ring doesn’t count), since I just discovered last week that horror doesn’t actually scare me. Bad scripts do, though.

It’s sad when the synopsis provided by KCC has more of a story than the movie itself. To read the synopsis go here and scroll down a bit. See, the synopsis sounds as if the movie could be watchable. But in fact you get a lot of atmosphere, a lot of unexplained stuff, and not a whole lot of coherence (there’s that word again).

On the positive side, nobody’s cell phone rang during the show. On the other hand, the auditorium wasn’t really at capacity either.

