I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

D-War September 21, 2007

Filed under: movies & film — Raven @ 2:03 pm
Tags: ,

This film, supposedly the most expensive in Korean history, is… a stinker. Okay, that’s totally hearsay on my part, since I haven’t seen it yet, but I’m now thinking I’ll wait for DVD. Nobody seems to have anything good to say about the film, although I have to admit the destruction of downtown LA is something I wouldn’t mind seeing on the big screen.

Korean film critic Kim Bong-sok said, “They want it to be successful in the U.S. because it’s Korean, not because it’s good,” and called the film “immature and poorly made.” (Source: Wikipedia)

Well, I was rooting for it too, also because it’s Korean, but I can’t root for something that isn’t any good. The story sounded iffy and confusing from the beginning, but I still had high hopes. My hopes are now on hold until I manage to see it, either in the theater or on DVD.

P.S. I thought Rain was supposed to be in it. Maybe its quality is why he backed out?

P.P.S I realize I’m saying a lot of bad things about a movie I haven’t seen. For the record, I would love to be able to come back and retract everything after I do see it.

 

8 Responses to “D-War”

  1. Bon Vivant Says:

    I wanted to see how fast you were with the Park’s BBQ review!

  2. Raven Says:

    Not quite that fast! It might not be up until tomorrow or even Tuesday. Too busy this afternoon… Busy procrastinating on the article I’m supposed to be writing!

  3. The Militant was going to do a write-up on D-Wars as well, but he too hasn’t seen it. Interesting that the movie poster has Los Angeles’ US Bank Building in the foreground but downtown Manhattan in the background…

  4. Raven Says:

    Huh. I hadn’t noticed that. Maybe the dragons have long tails that stretch all the way to New York?

    Btw, welcome to my blog!

  5. wangkon936 Says:

    As a good Korean, I will pay $10 at the local theater to support this film. As a good American, who values his time, I will save myself the 2.5 hours and do something more meaningful with my time. Good lord, I paid $10 AND sat through Typhoon last year. What was I thinking????

  6. Raven Says:

    If I pay to see a movie, I make myself sit through it. But in the case of D-Wars I can see why you wouldn’t, based on what I’ve heard. For me I think it will be Netflix all the way. The filmmakers should take a good look at this movie’s lack of success and ask themselves what went wrong.

    And next time they’re looking for someone to write a script for them, I’m right here. I’m just sayin’. 🙂

  7. wangkon936 Says:

    Well… it’s made over $8M already, more then any Korean produced film in the U.S. It’s also made about $70M in Korea, so unfortunately it’s a success…. =(

  8. Raven Says:

    Damn! I really should check the numbers before making blanket statements, I suppose.


Comments are closed.