I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Korean Festival September 16, 2007

Filed under: Koreatown & K-town events and shopping — Raven @ 10:06 pm
Tags: ,

I’m a bit late to this party considering today was the last day of the Korean Festival and I just found out about it. Sigh. It was held at Seoul International Park Sept. 13-16 here in LA. Apparently it’s an annual event held around the time of the Korean harvest festival, or Chu-sok, which occurs on the 15th day of the eighth month by the lunar calendar (don’t ask me to do the math). So I guess there’s hope for me next year.

The festival is in its 34th year, and last year it boasted 350,000 attendees over its four days. It showcases the awesomely diverse Korean community in LA. Go Koreans! The website is here.

I’m incredibly embarrassed that I just found out about it now. Lemme go slink into my corner and hide my face.

 

8 Responses to “Korean Festival”

  1. wangkon936 Says:

    Hey, where are the photographs???

    Someone is slipping!

  2. Raven Says:

    Hehe. I’d have to steal them from somebody else!

  3. Edward Says:

    Just do what I do….

    Google Images baby!

  4. Bon V. Says:

    I found out about it Monday! I heard that there were lots and lots of food samples. And great food made by Korean mothers. And great food made by Korean grand-mothers. And more food samples. Sigh.

  5. Raven Says:

    Yeah, I think we missed some fun. But I do feel better knowing I’m not the only one who found out too late.

    Although not that much better.

  6. raine Says:

    i’m guilty as well, especially guilty seeing as how i went to LACMA on saturday. literally right down the street.

    since chuseok practically just began, and this is technically (i think??) the official chuseok weekend in korea right now, i thought there wouldn’t be any events like this until this weekend (22nd) or later. boo.

  7. Raven Says:

    Hi raine, thanks for commenting! Once again I’m relieved that I’m not the only one who missed it.

  8. Edward Says:

    No worries people… We Koreans do a horrible job of promoting our culture to the waegook sarams (non-Korean peoples).

    I didn’t know myself until my mom reminded me…


Comments are closed.