I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Cold noodles in cold weather August 28, 2007

Filed under: restaurants — Raven @ 3:35 pm
Tags: , ,

I like cold noodles in all weather, but there’s something particularly refreshing about eating them on a warm day. Well, we picked a cold day to go to Ham Hung. Hey, we didn’t know! However, that didn’t detract from the pleasure of eating the noodles.

ham-hung-small.jpgI’m a fan of cold noodles anyway, and at Ham Hung I ordered my fave, 물넁 면. The tangy broth is always refreshing, but sometimes they skimp on the sliced meat and cukes that garnish the noodles (there are always plenty of noodles, though). But Ham Hung did it just right. There was plenty of meat, plenty of cukes, and of course half a hard-boiled egg. Delicious. My only complaint would be that when they were cutting the noodles for me at the table, they didn’t cut them up enough. But maybe slurping up noodles that are way too long is just a natural part of eating cold noodles.

We also ordered a roast meat (I’m not exactly sure what we ordered, but I think it may have been L.A.-style kalbi), which was a tad late in arriving, although I was okay with that since we were busy with the noodles. When it did get to us, it was nicely marinated (not too sweet for my taste) and oh-so-tender (you can grill your own here, but we didn’t). There’s no doubt about it, Korean restaurants get the best meat.p1010075.jpg

We were the only white people in the place, but everybody at Ham Hung was very friendly and welcoming. I think it’s a popular place. There’s even a large sign across the street pointing out where the restaurant is located. There’s also a parking lot across the street, which naturally neither of us noticed until we had both found street parking.

Ham Hung
809 S. Ardmore St.
(at 8th)
Los Angeles, CA 90005

 

10 Responses to “Cold noodles in cold weather”

  1. Bon V. Says:

    Is this place called Ham Hung? I thought that it was called Ham Jung? The spots on my brain must be getting bigger. I wrote my review of the Dongchimi Guksu from The Corner Place and kept calling it Gongchimi Guksu. Les Superieurs on chowhound had a field day with that one.

  2. Raven Says:

    I’m 99% sure it’s Ham Hung. I made a point of noting the name when we were there, but I didn’t write it down, so I could still be wrong.

    You need more B vitamins. They’re supposed to help memory. Also not working seems to help, I’ve noticed. 🙂

  3. Bon V. Says:

    I don’t think that you are wrong because I know that I am wrong. What I don’t understand is why am I suddenly screwing up Korean words? Not a good sign.

    Yes, not working would definitely help!

  4. youngkim Says:

    I like naeng myun when it’s very chewy and not soft. Like al dente kind of style. Also, I put a lot of dah-de-gee on it. It’s the spicy red chili paste.

    Naeng myun is the typical end dish after an order of BBQ.

  5. Raven Says:

    Why ruin it by adding chili paste? 🙂

    I don’t think I’ve ever paid attention to the chewiness of the noodles. Next time I will.

  6. Bon V. Says:

    I think that dongchimi guksu is better than neng myun (are these fightin’ words?)

  7. Raven Says:

    Those are totally fightin’ words.

  8. wangkon936 Says:

    Glad you finally went. Yeah, it’s not on the beaten path for non-Koreans, but it’s good stuff nonetheless. My parents always like going there because it’s good and relatively inexpensive. You didn’t mention the cup of warm broth they give you. That is one unique thing they have.

    Their galbi is not bad and their skate naeng myun is pretty good as well. Given that they have seawater tanks in the front, I imagine that their sea food must be pretty fresh.

    As far as service is concerned. You gonna politely ask them. When they get busy, they sometimes don’t do the little things and Koreans don’t like to over staff restaurants, as you may have already noticed. Here are some recommended phrases (in white person’s phonetics):

    – Yoh Ge Yoh (Excuse me waitress, I need service. Say is as loud as you need to for them to hear).
    – Guk Soo jom jal loh juh say yo (can you please cut the noodles?).
    – Guk Soo jom duh jal loh juh say yo (Please cut the noodles some more).

    And when she does what you ask, make sure you conclude with gam sam nee da.

  9. wangkon936 Says:

    One thing to keep in mind when speaking Korean, since it is a Altaic/Uralic language, it doesn’t have a lot of sharp sounds, for the most part like Chinese, Vietnamese or even English at times. For example, in saying “thank you,” gam sam nee da, a non-native Korean speaker may be tempted to emphasize the G in gam and the Sa in sam so it comes out sounding like the name Sam. However, in Korean you need to soften things up so the G should come out more like guh and the Sa should be more like sah. Thus the amplified phonetics would be more like guh-am sah-m knee (as in the body part) dah.

    Korean is an extremely hard language for a native English speaker to grasp (and vice versa) and the State Department ranks it in the top five in difficulty, next to Chinese, Arabic and Japanese.

  10. Raven Says:

    Oh yes, I completely forgot the broth! And given that it was a cold day and I’d been feeling under the weather all week, that broth totally hit the spot. Good stuff.

    Thanks for recommending the place and thanks for the useful phrases!


Comments are closed.