I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Chillin’ with cold noodles August 4, 2007

Filed under: restaurants — Raven @ 3:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

The Corner Place is renowned for its cold noodles. Supposedly the recipe for their broth is such a secret that you’re not even allowed to take your leftovers home (although the sign to that effect was missing), which could be a problem since the bowls are HUGE. I shared mine with one of my fellow diners (lunchers? it was lunch), which made it a reasonable-sized portion. The noodles plus very tender kalbi plus the panchan made it a good meal. I don’t think I would have wanted to have just the noodles. It would have been a little too one-note.

But let me not get ahead of myself. These cold noodles aren’t made of buckwheat. I don’t know what they’re made of, but in Korean they’re called 동치미 국수 (I think that’s right; I copied it down real fast from the menu). They’re white instead of dark. The flavor is subtle. I’m sure someone is going to tell me noodles in general don’t have much flavor, but trust me, they do. I think it’s a combination of look, texture and the actual flour they’re made of. These were subtle and had what I want to call a soft flavor. Okay, I’m reaching because they’re hard to describe, I admit it. But I liked them. Better than the buckwheat? No, I can’t say that. Just different.

One quibble I had with the noodle dish as a whole was that it was mostly noodles, and I like my cold noodles with add-ons such as hard-boiled egg and meat and cucumbers and stuff. Okay, they had a few sliced cucumbers or something similar, and there was half a sliced tomato. But the addition of at least some egg would have really made the dish for me.

The broth had the familiar slightly sweet tang I’m used to (the secret ingredient in The Corner Place’s broth is supposedly 7-Up). This broth also had a bit of a kick from the addition of jalapenos, which I could have lived without, although it wasn’t so spicy as to be inedible.

The ambiance was pleasant and the service was good. The kalbi we ordered was tasty, and as far as the panchan go, the bean sprouts were to die for. We ate about three or four dishes of them. Although the place wasn’t crowded when we arrived at 11:45 a.m., by the time we left around 1ish or so there was a wait for a table. There’s street parking and a small lot where the parking guys seem to be on a power trip and will tell you to move your car even if you’re not parked in a dedicated market or laundromat parking spot.

For the record, The Corner Place is NOT located on a corner.

The Corner Place
2819 James M. Wood Blvd
(1 block east of Vermont)
Los Angeles, CA 90006

 

10 Responses to “Chillin’ with cold noodles”

  1. Bon V. Says:

    I definitely like the somen-type noodles better than the thin buckwheat noodles.

    I really enjoyed that meal! The panchan were much better this time than the last time that I was there.

  2. Raven Says:

    Especially the bean sprouts! Wait, did I mention them already? :p

  3. kimfilms Says:

    Do you two go to K-town all the time?

    I went to Paris Baguette yesterday to pick up a cake.

    BTW, Happy B-day.

  4. Raven Says:

    Thanks! 🙂

    And yes, we go there a lot. Bon V. is frequently my Korean partner-in-crime (although she’s not Korean either).

    I love Paris Baguette. I’ve only had one of their cakes once, though (the green tea, yum). I usually just buy pastries.

  5. Bon V. Says:

    Yes, Happy Birthday! To many more meals in KTown and pastries at Paris Baguette.

  6. Raven Says:

    Thanks! 🙂

  7. Edward Says:

    Hey Raven,

    Happy birthday also! There is a Corner Place I go to with my parents in Cerritos and it’s okay. I hear good things about the L.A. Corner Place so maybe it’s better? Don’t know. Best nyeng-myun I’ve had is on 8th Street and Berendo (I think). Not well known to non-Koreans.

    동치미 국수 is dong chee mei guk su. I don’t know what 동치미 means but 국수 means flour noodles.

  8. Raven Says:

    Thanks! 🙂

    You’ll have to try the LA Corner Place, see what you think. What’s the name of the place at 8th and Berendo? I’ll have to add it to my list of places to try.

  9. Edward Says:

    It’s called Han Hung and it’s on 8th and Ardmore NOT Berendo. I really hope you didn’t go looking for it!

    A food blogger’s link is below:

    http://dailygluttony.blogspot.com/2006/01/one-well-endowed-dinner-ham-hung.html

    The blogger is non-Korean so I don’t know how she found it. Must of had a Korean friend.

  10. Raven Says:

    I hadn’t gone looking for it yet, but I’m adding it to my “to try” list now. Sounds good!

    Sorry about the comment moderation, btw. I started getting spam, so I had to start moderating comments with links.


Comments are closed.