I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Radio Star July 26, 2007

Filed under: movies & film — Raven @ 8:51 pm
Tags: , ,

I really enjoyed this film, which I caught tonight at KCC. The basic setup is that in order to earn his bail money, a has-been rock star has to go DJ in a small town. The film is subtle and poignant, but also packs a lot of laughs. Seriously, I haven’t laughed out loud at a film that many times in a long while.

Apparently I’m not the only one who thinks this film is pretty decent, since it was featured at the 10th Shanghai International Film Festival (I don’t know if it won anything and I can’t seem to find out) and was one of Korea’s four entries at the 21st Fukuoka Asian Film Festival.

At the very beginning I wasn’t sure I was going to like it, but of course you never know at the beginning of a film. Few films get a 100% endorsement from me, but this one is close. So if you have a chance to catch it, do so!

Note to the ajooma in the back row: Please do not answer your cell phone during the movie. But if you absolutely must answer it, please don’t ask the caller to call you right back so you have to disturb us by answering it again! Thanks.

Also, someone (presumably someone from KCC) was taking pictures of the audience during the movie. I’m very curious to know what these are going to be used for (and also curious to know if they came out in the dark theater), so if anyone from KCC happens to drop by here, please let me know.

 

8 Responses to “Radio Star”

  1. Edward Says:

    So you go to KCC huh? I was there once for OldBoy a few years ago and I noticed that there were two types of people there. Older Korean people and younger non-Koreans who don’t know how to get the DVD’s cheap from Korean language web sites… hehehehe. Have you seen “Please Teach me English”? I highly recommend it.

  2. Raven Says:

    There aren’t that many non-Koreans at KCC now. Sometimes I’m pretty much the only one. The older Korean folks are still there, though. Which websites do you use to get your DVDs? Although my Korean is rudimentary and I’d probably still go for free movies even if I knew where to buy them. 🙂

    I saw Please Teach Me English a few years ago. I remember thinking the cartoon segments were funny, and I remember liking the film as a whole and the Candy and Elvis characters and the fact that the English teacher marries a student in the end, but that’s about all I remember. I know Jang Hyuk is in it, though.

  3. Edward Says:

    Regarding cell phones. Just give the offending ajomma a mean, blood curling, nasty stare….;)

    Say “Hahn Fohn Johm Guh Sae Yo. Gam Sam Nee Dah.”

  4. Edward Says:

    I know where to get them in Fullerton, but not in LA. I’ll do some looking for yah. You can also rent DVDs at Korean movie shops, however, they are not properly region coded so you’ll only get to see them on your computer. All Korean dvd’s (except some bootlegs) have English subs.

    Get them on Amazon. Get them used (much cheaper that way). Put the English language title of said movie and you’ll be suprised what you find! If you are not sure about forking over $8-12 on a DVD on Amazon watch the movie’s trailer and/or clips on Youtube.

  5. Raven Says:

    “Turn off your cell phone, please. Thanks.” ?? I see “hand phone” in there and the polite ending, and “thank you” I know.

    I can’t glare at ’em when it’s dark! Or I can (and do), but it doesn’t do any good.

  6. Raven Says:

    Hmm, I never even thought about using Amazon. I’ll have to give that a look-see.

    I have a region-free DVD player (still in the box since I haven’t needed it yet, but I do have it), so that wouldn’t be a problem.

  7. Edward Says:

    Raven,

    I wish you luck on your Korean language endeavor. Korean is HARD for someone coming from an English language background. It’s listed as one of the five hardest languages by the State Department language school. Arabic is suppose to be harder, but it’s 72 weeks of training. Korean is over 80!

    Yes, I meant “Please turn off your cell phone.” Notice that the grammar is backwards compared to English. So the English direct word for word would be, “Cell phone turn off please.” Imagine doing that ALL the freak’in time. Even for someone like me who was raised in a Korean family, reading a half a page of a Korean newspaper gives me a freak’in headache. Not trying to discourage you by any stretch of the imagination! Keep it up girl!

    I’ll see about a place where you can rent Korean dvd’s in LA. Then you can watch any Korean dvd you want for $3.50 a pop.

  8. Raven Says:

    I’ve been told it’s pretty hard. 80 hours sounds like a lot. I wonder what they allot for Russian (that’s my other main language). I took the intro class at KCC to learn the alphabet, and my current, uh, study methods consist of watching numerous hours of kdramas (which is actually working; my passive vocab is increasing). I’m thinking I’ll go back to KCC for another class or two eventually. I have a linguistics background, which helps.

    Korean DVD rental in LA would be awesome!!! Thanks for offering to check into it for me. 🙂


Comments are closed.