I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

The Host and the BBQ March 24, 2007

Filed under: movies & film,restaurants — Raven @ 11:56 pm
Tags: , ,

Those should actually be in the opposite order since we ate the BBQ before seeing The Host (no, we did not eat the host). I went into The Host expecting a suspense-heavy thriller with some comedic moments. That wasn’t exactly what I got. There’s one brilliant moment near the end that involves a clumsy guy and a firebomb (for those of you who haven’t seen it and are planning to, I won’t say more), but overall I came out of it thinking they could have done better. C’mon, Korea, if you’re planning to conquer the US with your movies, you’re going to have to give it better than that. And I know you’ve got better than that because I’ve seen you do better than that. Please.

So anyway. Now back to the BBQ, which really should’ve come first, since that’s where it belongs chronologically. The BBQ is called 잠숮골 and is located on Olympic a little east of Crenshaw. If you want to know what it’s called in English, you’re out of luck because it isn’t called anything in English. There’s no English sign. I had mixed feelings about the restaurant. The food was fresh and tasty (the place is a charcoal BBQ and I now smell like smoke, especially my hair). The staff was friendly, and they were pleased with Bon V.’s attempts to speak Korean (I chickened out). The ambience was pleasant and they actually have a lot to park in. But (there’s always a but) the prices were on the steep side and, worst of all, I wasn’t full when I left. If I had been full, I could’ve forgiven the prices. But I wasn’t. So I can’t.

So that was today’s stop: Korea (unusual for this blog, I know). Tomorrow’s stop: India with The Namesake. But I will be skipping the Indian food. Just not my thing.

잠숮골
3700 W. Olympic Blvd
(about 4 blocks east of Crenshaw)
Los Angeles, CA 90019

 

9 Responses to “The Host and the BBQ”

  1. Young Kim Says:

    I think I’m the only Korean who has not seen The Host.

    I had my chance for special free screenings at:

    Pusan
    American Film Market
    Special screening last month and…

    I’m very impressed by your korean typing. Yesterday, ironically enough, I went to a Korean movie at USC.

  2. Raven Says:

    What movie did you see?

    The Big Swindle is playing Thursday at the Korean Cultural Center. I may go, not sure.

    I heard today that The Host has made record BO in Korea. The only thing I can’t figure out is: Is that the same movie I saw? Because I didn’t think it was all that awesome. Maybe I’m missing something…

    Yes, after much labor I finally have a Korean font working on my computer. Woohoo!

  3. Young Kim Says:

    Hm, maybe I’ll go to the Cultural Center, too. Let me know.

    The Host overtook The King and the Clown. They both sold about 14 million tickets which is about 30 percent of the population.

  4. Bon Vivant Says:

    Next bubbaque place is Soot Bul Gui Rim which is all you can eat for $15 AND it’s charcoal too!

  5. Raven Says:

    Count me in!

  6. Young Kim Says:

    I go there all the time. That’s the best one out of a bunch of places that are 14.99.

  7. mdb Says:

    All you can eat charcoal for $15? Count me out.

  8. Raven Says:

    Here’s Bon V’s review of 잠숮골 (with pics and video!): http://myculinaryadventures.blogspot.com/2007/04/cham-sut-gol.html

    And yes, that’s my hand holding the chopsticks.

  9. Raven Says:

    Huh, I dunno if the link above is going to work. If it doesn’t just go here:

    http://myculinaryadventures.blogspot.com/

    The review is currently the top post.


Comments are closed.