I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Inside Omurice March 12, 2009

Filed under: cuisine — Raven @ 6:26 pm
Tags:

Since sku was interested in the filling of omurice, here’s a photo of my omurice cut down the middle so you can see what’s inside. I’m not sure the spam is very visible, though.

p1010754

I’ve since tried omurice at a different restaurant, Kongjinae (located within walking distance of Spoon & Chopsticks, oddly enough, in the shopping center just east of the one where Paris Baguette is). I don’t have a photo, but Kongjinae smothered their omurice in a sweet sauce instead of ketchup. I have to say I much prefer the ketchup. The sweet sauce was okay for the first few bites and then became overpowering, so I found myself eating around it, trying to get just the parts with no sauce (not an easy thing to do). My advice: if you go to Kongjinae, get the katsu.

 

6 Responses to “Inside Omurice”

  1. J.T. Says:

    I don’t know whether to be amused or appalled. Really now, after two months, I do think your readers are entitled to a bit more than a slightly different picture of the same bloody egg!
    :-P

  2. Raven Says:

    You’re completely right, of course. And I do have Mr. Pizza to blog about, as well as a number of kdramas. But I just don’t have the time or inclination to write thoughtful reviews of them right now. Sorry! :)

  3. sku Says:

    Thanks Raven. Before reading this entry, I actually went to Kong Ji Donkatsu for lunch on Friday, and since I say they had it, I tried the omurice. I agree that the sauce was too sweet and sort of gloppy. The donkatsu was good but it’s drowned in the same sauce. I’m still not sold on the whole omurice concept. I’ll check it out at S&C sometime soon and report back.

  4. Bon Vivant Says:

    A better version of omurice might be the shrimp omelet ramen at Ramen-ya.

  5. SinoSoul Says:

    Can we get the write up on Mr. Pizza before the K-dramas? please?

    thanks.

  6. Raven Says:

    Sku, hmm, I don’t remember the donkatsu being in the same sauce, but if you say so I believe you. I do remember that the tartar sauce on the fish was good with one piece but became too sweet with the second piece of fish. At S&C you’ll find the omurice is savory, not sweet.

    Bon V., I’ve only had ramen from Ramen-ya. Its quality (fair) didn’t encourage me to try other dishes. Is the shrimp omelet good? Of course, I couldn’t write about it here since it’s not Korean. :)

    SinoSoul, I promise I will do the Mr. Pizza review before the kdramas. But I don’t promise when. :D


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.