I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Omelet + Rice = Omurice January 5, 2009

Filed under: restaurants — Raven @ 8:27 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Omurice is an incredibly simple dish, just a layer of beaten egg cooked and wrapped around rice, veggies, and spam. Pour some ketchup on top and you’re done. Like bibimbap, it falls into the category of Korean dishes I imagine I could successfully recreate at home. It’s total comfort food. Egg, carbs, ketchup… Does it get better than that?

p1010751

The place where I generally order it is also a very simple place. It’s almost like sitting in someone’s kitchen. The place is called Spoon & Chopsticks, and it’s located on 6th a block or so east of Chapman Plaza in the same strip mall as Ice Kiss and Ham Ji Park, a place Young recommended (which I tried ages ago but haven’t blogged about yet, just so you know, Young).

The food at Spoon & Chopsticks, like the ambiance, is very basic. Besides omurice they have various kinds of fried rice, noodles, some simple meats, kimbap, dumplings and probably a few things I’m forgetting. You don’t go here for a gourmet meal. You do go if you need a cheap and filling bite to eat. You can get their punch card and eventually earn a free meal. They also deliver.

Kimbap:

p1010748

Dumplings and some panchan (the kimbap also made it into the picture again):

p1010750

The staff is friendly (it helps to speak Korean). They’re not open on Sunday. Parking is street or the valet lot behind the strip mall. The panchan seem to vary from day to day, so if there’s one you particularly like (or dislike) don’t expect it to necessarily be offered next time.

Spoon & Chopsticks
(cross-streets: Kenmore/Catalina)
3417 W 6th St
Los Angeles, CA 90189

 

19 Responses to “Omelet + Rice = Omurice”

  1. Young Says:

    Mmm… Omurice.

    Did they put ketchup in the fried rice when they made it?

    That’s how most places made them when I was growing up in Korea.

  2. Raven Says:

    I think so. The rice was sort of reddish.

  3. Eugene Says:

    Yum. I haven’t had that in forever. Now I gotta get off my lazy rear and make it, or find some place in the Valley where I can find it.

  4. Raven Says:

    I can’t help you with Korean restaurants in the Valley…

  5. Bon Vivant Says:

    That food looks so good! I’m so tempted to drive down to Santa Clara now and pig out on Korean food.

  6. Raven Says:

    You totally should!

    I just had KBBQ last night. Mmm, mmm, good. You’ll be interested (and perhaps distressed) to learn that instead of their cold pre-meal soup (which I think was a type of dongchimi), Hae Jang Chon now serves that egg casserole you get at a lot of KBBQ places. They still serve the same post-meal soup.

  7. J.T. Says:

    LMAO… look who’s eating again! But loook at what she’s eating… I have to pass on omurice. Give me some good cow intestines any day…

  8. Raven Says:

    But omurice is such great comfort food!

  9. milagirll Says:

    So I’m asking a fellow non-Korean who loves Korean culture as much as I do, how long did it take for you to learn the Korean you know now? I’m learning now and while it’s rather fun I’m getting incredibly anxious. Arrrgh!!

  10. Raven Says:

    I wish I knew more Korean than I actually do. I took an eight-week introductory course where I learned the alphabet and some basic phrases like “hello,” “goodbye,” “I want the menu,” etc. Everything else I know I’ve picked up from watching Korean TV dramas over the course of several years.

    From my experience becoming fluent in Russian, however, I can say that it takes a long time (a matter of years of study), and it helps to spend some time living in the country after you’ve reached at least an intermediate level.

  11. J.T. Says:

    Isn’t it time for you to eat something else already???????????

  12. Raven Says:

    Yes, it is, but life has gotten in the way again. I’ve been really bad about blogging these past few months, as I’m sure everyone has noticed.

  13. Bon Vivant Says:

    It’s funny how this blog post came up second on a google search for “dongchimi guksu san francisco”

  14. Bon Vivant Says:

    Oh, my! My “picture” is that of a quilt pattern; what happened to the sexy broad in the martini glass?

  15. Raven Says:

    It’s particularly weird since I don’t mention dongchimi guksu or San Francisco!

    And maybe it’s too cold for the martini broad so she needed to cover herself with a quilt?

  16. Sku Says:

    I can’t say I’m thrilled by the prospect of Omurice (which sounds like some kind of sound system – Now get Omurice sound on your HDTV!), but I have to admit I’m a bit intrigued. Was the spam sauteed or just stuffed into the omlette?

    I think I’ve been to every restaurant in that block except this one, so I suppose I should give it a try.

  17. Raven Says:

    I’m not really sure if the spam was sauteed or just stuffed inside. I’ll post a photo of the inside so you can take a look.

  18. Ready Go Says:

    Something about ketchup on rice just doesn’t do it for me, but other than that… it’s alright! ;)

  19. Raven Says:

    Just think of the ketchup as being mostly on the egg. :)


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.