I love Koreatown in the springtime…

Wherein I blog about all things Korean in Los Angeles

Kang Je Gyu at USC January 16, 2008

Filed under: movies & film — Raven @ 1:19 am
Tags: , , ,

They’re calling this the 2008 USC Korean Film Festival. I’m still trying to decide whether two films can actually constitute a film festival, but in the meantime here’s the info. Everything happens this coming Saturday, January 19, from 3:30-9:30 at USC Norris Theater. Shiri will be showing at 3:30, followed by a Q&A (hopefully better than the one at LACMA for Secret Sunshine). At 6:30 comes the free food, er, I mean the reception, followed by Tae Guk Gi: The Brotherhood of War at 7:30. Admission is free. Here’s the link.

Kang Je Gyu, who directed both films, will be there for the Q&A (you knew I had to mention him since his name is in the post title). These are kind of landmark films. I could tell you why in my own words, but I’m just going to quote the press release:

At a time when Hollywood pressed for unlimited access to the Korean film market and the local film industry feared its imminent collapse, Director Kang released Shiri (Swiri), South Korea’s first blockbuster film. The epic Tae Guk Gi : The Brotherhood of War attracted over 11 million viewers and was chosen as South Korea’s entry to the 2004 Academy Awards for best foreign film.

There you go. If you haven’t seen them already, go see ‘em.

 

4 Responses to “Kang Je Gyu at USC”

  1. JT Says:

    I’m curious Raven. Do many non-Koreans attend these events? I went to school in LA, so I remember Asian culture being a lot more mainstream than it is here in NYC. NY, in my opinion, is very Euro-centric. Or are events like the USC film festival organized by Koreans mainly for Koreans?

  2. Raven Says:

    I’m not sure what the ratio will be like at USC, but there are usually a few non-Koreans. Secret Sunshine was about half and half, although I’m guessing a lot came to see the no-show Tarantino. At the film festival this past fall there were some non-Koreans, more for the evening showings, although it was still probably about 70% Korean. The weekly screenings at the Korean Cultural Center range from one non-Korean (that would be me) to about fifty-fifty, depending on who shows up.

    I’m not sure the non-Korean community always finds out about these events, which is a shame.

  3. youngkim Says:

    Last year there was pizza between movies. That was free.

    As I recall, it was about 2/3 Korean. About fifty to 100 people came, I’d say. I’m guessing a larger turnout for these because these two are seminal films whereas last year’s films were artsy.

  4. JT Says:

    LOL… if there’s free food, there will be Koreans…


Comments are closed.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.